I love to travel

I love to travel. At the moment I have to concentrate on my career; finish up my current job and move straight on to my next post-doc position, but sometime within the next couple of years I hope to be able to take a few weeks/couple of months off between jobs, or from a permanent job(?) and go on another long trip.

While I think and plan and dream about that, here are some of my favourite quotations about travelling that I have collected over the years: 

“…that first moment when you pause where you are, take a deep breath and open your eyes to an unknown land, a shiny new light is shed on your entire soul. You discover possibility in the rawest form of excitement. You discover the love of wandering about, without. Without people or boundaries or over-sized luggage. And then, within yourself, you discover a newfound adventure land to explore – this is the most daring adventure of all.” (Kirsten Chen, Thought Catalogue)

“viajar por viajar… I travel to travel. It’s an end in itself. It’s a teacher and a friend. It makes me a better person. It reminds me of what I love in life and puts the rest into perspective. It calms me and refines me. It teaches me to be patient and respectful, and it reminds me to trust myself” (Che Guevara/Robin Ryan)

“Once you have traveled, the voyage never ends, but is played out over and over again in the quietest chambers. The mind can never break off from the journey”. (Pat Conroy)

“The traveler sees what he sees, the tourist sees what he has come to see”. (Gilbert K. Chesterton)

“Travelling is a brutality. It forces you to trust strangers and to lose sight of all that familiar comfort of home and friends. You are constantly off balance. Nothing is yours except the essential things – air, sleep, dreams, the sea, the sky – all things tending towards the eternal or what we imagine of it.” (Cesare Pavese)

“Tourists don’t know where they’ve been, travelers don’t know where they’re going.” (Paul Theroux)

This next one is not directly about travelling but is key to my life at the moment. Starting over in a new place…

“To live in a new place is a beautiful, thrilling thing, and it can show you that you can be whoever you want — on your own terms. It can give you the gift of freedom, of new beginnings, of curiosity and excitement. But to start over, to get on that plane, doesn’t come without a price. You cannot be in two places at once, and from now on, you will always lay awake on certain nights and think of all the things you’re missing out on back home.” (Chelsea Fagan, Thought Catalogue)

Me in Argentina 2010

And there are some more quotes here: http://www.tweakiz.com/2012/04/some-best-travel-quotes/

2 responses to “I love to travel

  1. Terrific work! This is the type of information that should be shared around the web. Shame on the search engines for not positioning this post higher!

  2. Pingback: The Art of Travel | Helen Louise Williams

Leave a Reply

